Early Dance Classes

with Barbara Segal

Barbara holds classes in Baroque & Renaissance Dance in London, around the UK and abroad, for both beginners/elementary and intermediate/advanced students.

Beginners/Elementary

Barbara believes that learning to dance should be a pleasure as well as a learning experience. Her beginners/elementary classes begin with a fun warm up, progress to step practice, then the steps are linked into dances that are within the capabilities of the particular class. Her own evident enjoyment is infectious. After a morning of renaissance dance, the focus shifts in the afternoon to baroque dance.

Intermediate/Advanced

Experienced dancers come to Barbara to learn an increasingly difficult repertoire and to hone their technique. She has many years of experience in early dance, as performer, teacher and choreographer. She has taught in Europe, the Baltic Countries and Australia in addition to courses in the UK. She has also taught early dance on the BA (Hons) degree course in Ballet Education at the Royal Academy of Dance in London. In addition to baroque dance, Barbara also gives courses in renaissance dance; she also teaches baroque gesture for singers.

2016

Sunday 3 January 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 16 January 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Wednesday 20 January 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Saturday 23 January – 7.30 – Royal Academy of Arts
Performance of group plus audience participation

Sunday 24 January 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Friday 29 – Sunday 31 January 2016 – Dolmetsch HDS Workshop – High Leigh
Dances of Thomas Bray & his Contemporaries

Sunday 7 February 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 13 February 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Wednesday 17 February 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Sunday 21 February 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 5 March 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 6 March 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 16 March 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Sunday 13 March 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Summer School at Easter –  Tuesday 29 March – Sunday 3 April 2016  Oxford           Intermediate Baroque Dance

There are also courses in Commedia, Singing, Instrumental Music and Period Costume-Making at this summer school. For more information: www.chalemie.co.uk

Saturday 16 April 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 17 April 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 20 April 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Sunday 24 April 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 7 May – Oxford Historical Dance Society
Italian 16th century dance

Sunday 8 May 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 14 May 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Wednesday 18 May 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Sunday 22 May 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Sunday 5 June 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 15 June 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Saturday 18 June 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 26 June 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 2 July 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 3 July 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 10 July 2015 – Regency Dancing
Swiss Garden, Shuttleworth Estate, Beds

Wednesday 20 July 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Summer School – Cracovia Danza Court Dance Festival, Krakow, Poland
4 – 9 August 2016
Beginners & Intermediate Baroque Dance
Country Dance

Saturday 13 August 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Wednesday 17 August 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Sunday 28 August – Wimpole Hall, Cambridgeshire
Baroque Dance Performance  plus Audience Participation

Sunday 11 September 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 21 September 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Saturday 24 September 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 25 September 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Weekend Course – 30 September – 2 October – POZNAN, Poland
Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 8 October 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 9 October 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Sunday 16 October 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 19 October 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Weekend Course – 12 – 13 November  – Edinburgh
Elementary-Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Wednesday 16 November 2016 – Winchester
8.00-10.00 pm –  Hampshire Regency Dancers

Saturday 26 November 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 27 November 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 3 December – Oxford Historical Dance Society
Italian 16th century dance

Sunday 4 December 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-5.30   Intermediate Baroque Dance Workshop

Saturday 10 December 2016 – Winchester Baroque Dancers
11.30-2.30   Beginners & Elementary Baroque Dance

Sunday 11 December 2016 – London, The Place
11.00-1.30   Elementary Renaissance Dance Workshop
3.00-5.30   Elementary Baroque Dance Workshop

For further information please contact Barbara Segal:

3 Thornhill Square
Islington
London N1 1BQ

Tel: 020 7700 4293
Fax: 020 7700 5877

Email: barbara.segal@thorn.demon.co.uk

Baroque, Renaissance & 19th Century dance classes.

Location: The Place, Flaxman Terrace, London WC1H 9PY